Showing posts with label drivers test. Show all posts
Showing posts with label drivers test. Show all posts

Monday, August 15, 2011

Driving Test Pt. 2

I PASSED!!!!

I did it! I passed my behind the wheel test with only three errors. :) I'm so proud of myself. I was so nervous last night and this morning. My grandma made me a breakfast burrito but I feeling nauseous and deicded it was best that I shouldn't eat anything. While pulling up to where I wait for my instructor to come in the peak of my nervousness hit. Driving up to the place, my foot hit too fast on the gas pedal without my other foot letting go of the clutch and so my car bunny hopped. :/

I was hoping that my instructor would be a man and thank God it was. I don't really like when women are the ones grading... they seem to be stingy and rude whereas men are more objective. Anyway, the dude was awesome. He sparked up a conversation about stick shift cars and how he totally understood how it feels like to first drive one. We shared our scary moments of when our cars were braked on a hill and how we were terrified how far back the car would roll or if it would hit the car behind us. This made me feel so much better knowing he understood.

Throughout the drive I kept telling myself, "Check your mirrors. Check your mirrors. Check your mirrors. Don't go to fast--what's the speed limit?" And holy crap at one point the car was about to turn off on me but luckily I was quick enough to realize this and react by stepping on the clutch. SAVED MY LIFE! OMG. Scariest moment of my test. There was this one part where I accidently turned into a bike lane and it was later he hinted that it wasn't the right lane and I immediately switched lanes and apologized. It was then that he started directing me back to the DMV and I thought, 'That's it. I'm done. I didn't pass.' Inside I was dying of disappointment in myself but I tried to end it with grace and didn't show my disappointment.

Once I parked and he reviewed one of my errors (I got three in total) he told me, "Congratulations! You passed. Good job." I coudln't even think at that point I just wanted to run out of the car and tell my mom but I had to think: lock the car, gather my papers, and head back to the office.

It feels good finally earning that 'seal' of approval saying I can drive. :)

Now I end with some awesome DJing skills from badass Yulia.

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Driving Test

The big day is tomorrow! Ahhh! I'm incredibly nervous it's ridiculous. I've been practicing since school let out in June and I've done pretty well so far. The fact that my car is stick shift made it difficult for me. I love saying that I can drive stick shift and honestly, it really is a lot of fun. I've also driven an automatic and it isn't the same; it's rather boring. Despite the fact that it's taken me a bit longer to gain confidence on the road, I love driving stick shift!

Today I drove around the area where I'd be driving tomorrow morning and we practiced for about two hours; I hope it'll help ease my nerves. Aye. I really, really hope I pass tomorrow morning. My mother said it was fine if I didn't and I do understand her reasoning why but it would just be better if I do pass on the first try. I just need to remember to stay calm and over dramatize everything. I'm off to review for a bit and then I'll probably watch some reruns of Whose Line Is It Anyway?

I'll post an update sometime later tomorrow or in the week to write whether I passed or not. Good luck to me! :)